New Loose Tubes CD later this month

Well, not a new one exactly, but certainly one we haven’t heard before. And it will become the only Loose Tubes album you can legally buy new on CD. It’s called Dancing On Frith Street, it’s a recording from Ronnie Scott’s in September 1990, it is released on Django Bates’s Lost Marble label on 27 September, and will be available then from Django’s website.

The Guardian’s John Fordham has this to say in the press release: “Over a quarter-century after it first blew into Europe’s jazz consciousness, Loose Tubes still sounds like a contemporary band. For those lucky enough to have been around to hear its first exhilarating gigs in the mid-1980s, the newly-uncovered music on this album represents a dizzying piece of time-travel. All of this young lineup’s risk-embracing openness and alertness to many traditions (always mixed with a healthy dose of creative disrespect) are represented in these tracks, just as they were when Loose Tubes evolved in 1984 from a lively youth-workshop outfit to a 21-piece the like of which had never been encountered in jazz before.”

It’s great that at last those of us for whom the band was one of their jazz highlights of the last quarter century can  have something to remind us of those great days. Nearly two years ago now I wrote on this site: “Can someone please explain to me why there are no Loose Tubes albums in print and available on CD.”

I also put out this plea: “I call upon all members of Loose Tubes to put some pressure on whoever has the original tapes to do something useful with them. And if it’s you Loose Tubers who are holding things up, then please stop it. Yes, I know you have all done marvellous things since and I love all those recordings as well and will go on singing their praises. But come on, there’s a whole generation out there who haven’t heard where you all came from.”

I was pleasantly surprised by the comments that started to appear on that posting, both from band members and fellow fans.

Now, I’m not saying all that has anything to do with the release of Dancing On Frith Street – heaven forfend! All I’m saying is Thank You.

Of the new CD, Django says: “From 1984 to 1990 I was privileged to share the company of 31 musicians whose passion, zeal and commitment to music came before everything else. It amazes me that during the band’s final week at Ronnie Scott’s, we had the foresight to document the quintessential sound of Loose Tubes, capturing the exuberance and energy I remember so well.

“In this recording you will hear Eddie Parker – Flutes. Dai Pritchard – Clarinets. Steve Buckley, Iain Ballamy, Mark Lockheart, Julian Nicholas, Ken Stubbs – Saxophones. Lance Kelly, Chris Batchelor, Ted Emmett, Paul Edmonds, Noel Langley – Trumpets. John Harborne, Steve Day, Paul Taylor, Richard Pywell. Ashley Slater – Trombones. Dave Powell – Tuba. Django Bates – Keyboards. John Parricelli – Guitar. Steve Watts – Bass. Martin France – Drums. Thebi Lipere – Percussion.

“My involvement with these musicians, and Julian & Steve Argüelles, Steve Berry, Dave Bitelli, Dave Defries, John Eacott, Nic France, and Tim Whitehead, made this period intensely rich, fertile and unforgettable.”

There’ll be a review here as soon as I get my hands on a copy; in the meantime, you can read my original post and all the comments here. And, of course, you will want to order your copy now, and the best way to do that is through Django’s website here.

Oh, and by the way, the imminent arrival of Dancing On Frith Street does not in any way change my original plea. Let those Loose Tubes studio albums be reissued! Forthwith!



Categories: News

Tags: , , ,

5 replies

  1. Lovely article! well done.
    Yup, i was pleased as punch when i heard about this a few weeks ago – high time eh?
    And nice and fitting being not only 20 years since they disbanded but also Django’s 50th birthday.
    It’s very interesting to see the different personnel on this album – quite a few names i’ve not come across before (or have, like Noel Langley, but didn’t realise they were ex Tubes members).
    I’m particularly looking forward to hearing people like Julian Nicholas on the album; one of my favourite Sax players and someone who should be as well known as the likes of Iain Ballamy and Julian Arguelles but for some reason isn’t!
    Nice that Django gives credit to the original members as well.
    Roll on the 27th of September!

    • Hi Josef – and thanks for your comments – for which I publicly declare I didn’t pay you!! – I can only justify my marginality by the fact that I moved to Brighton and was bringing up my daughter on my own… though I have always been playing with Ed Parker’s band etc and will be at Brighton Jazz club on Dec 3 with Chris Batchelor, and on Liane Carrol’s new album coming out soon, and working towards a new album next year. Jazz CDs UK may still have copies of ‘Food Of Love’ reissued in UK in 2000 – many thanks for your interest. JN

  2. Yay, can’t wait! I’ve just been listening to Delightful Precipice (Loose Tubes’ 2nd album and my favourite). The studio albums definitely deserve CD release, also BBC’s Loose Tubes Live at the Proms, please.

  3. i was part of the brighton jazz co-op when loose tubes came to brighton. one of them stayed in my house and practiced cello in the loft. we were all groupies and toted things in and out of places for them. they are my total jazz heros, and i am really delighted that a cd is finally being released.

  4. I would like to know how to obtain a recording of The Loose Tubes’ “Hermeto’s Giant Breakfast”. Any format will do, even a cassette. Can someone who has access to this piece and/or who knows how to obtain this please contact me?
    thanks
    Andy Jaffe

Leave a comment