CD review

Jakob Bro – Streams

(ECM) The Danish guitarist’s previous trio disc for ECM, Gefion, had a quiet presence that was most attractive but this new one, again with Thomas Morgan on double bass but with Joey Baron replacing Jon Christensen behind the drum kit,… Read More ›

Oddarrang – Agartha

(Edition Records) The Finnish quintet of drummer Olavi Louhivuori, trombonist Ilmari Pohjola, guitarist Lasse Sakara, bassist Lasse Lindgren and cellist Osmo Iknonen create a compelling sound world which is highly distinctive and has a cinematic feel to it. In this… Read More ›

E.S.T. Symphony

(ACT) Eight years after the scuba-diving accident that killed Swedish pianist Esbjörn Svensson and stopped Europe’s most successful jazz group in its tracks, this ambitious project, masterminded by arranger-conductor Hans Ek with the participation of E.S.T. bassist Dan Berglund and… Read More ›