Jazz FM Awards 2016 – the runners and riders

jazzfmawards16The shortlists for this shindig – a collaboration of the Jazz FM radio station and jazz promoters Serious – have been drawn up and announced this morning. The public gets to vote in three of the categories: Album of the Year, UK Jazz Act of the Year, and Live Experience of the Year. I’m delighted to see that the Symphony Hall, Birmingham, concert by the Maria Schneider Orchestra (my review is here) is one of the three nominees in the Live Experience category.

The nominees in full:

Breakthrough Act of the Year                                    

  • Binker & Moses
  • Jacob Collier
  • Nerija

International Jazz Artist of the Year (Sponsored by Yamaha)

  • Kamasi Washington
  • Marcus Miller
  • Maria Schneider

Blues Artist of the Year

  • Alabama Shakes
  • Buddy Guy
  • Gary Clark Jnr

Soul Artist of the Year

  • Jill Scott
  • Leon Bridges
  • Lizz Wright

Instrumentalist of the Year (Sponsored by Arqiva)

  • Mark Lockheart
  • Theon Cross
  • Zoe Rahman

Vocalist of the Year

  • Eska
  • Lauren Kinsella
  • Liane Carroll

Jazz Innovation of the Year (Sponsored by Mishcon de Reya)

  • Black Top
  • Christian Scott Atunde Adjuah
  • David Virelles

Digital Initiative of the Year (Sponsored by 7digital)

  • Chassol
  • Jacob Collier
  • Tin Men and the Telephone

Album of the Year (Public Vote)

  • Christian Scott Stretch Music
  • Hiatus Kiayote Choose Your Weapon
  • Kamasi Washington The Epic
  • Maria Schneider The Thompson Fields
  • Charenee Wade Offering
  • Snarky Puppy Sylva

UK Jazz Act of the Year (Public Vote) (Sponsored by Grange Hotels)

  • Binker & Moses
  • Matthew Halsall
  • Sons of Kemet

 Live Experience of the Year (Public Vote)

  • Ice-T and Ron McCurdy – The Langston Hughes Project at the Barbican
  • Maria Schneider at Symphony Hall Birmingham
  • Taylor McFerrin at Rio Club Glasgow

Lifetime Achievement (Sponsored by PPL)

To be announced in due course

The award ceremony will take place on Tuesday 26 April at the Bloomsbury Ballroom in London and will include a performance by Gregory Porter, who will also receive the Jazz Impact Award.

  • To vote for the three categories decided by the public, open until 11.55am on Thursday 31 March (one vote per person, per category), go here.

Categories: News

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: