2015 Parliamentary Jazz Award winners

Peter Ind received a special award.

Peter Ind received a special award.

The marquee on the Houses Of Parliament terrace was yesterday evening suitably crammed with jolly jazz people drinking free wine while catching up with old friends. The generally understated sartorial style was enlivened here and there by a couple of Loose Tubes. As my “plus one” remarked, you don’t get sparkly plimsoles at a gas and oil reception.

That goddess among compères Moira Stuart kept things rolling along for the 2015 All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group’s Parliamentary Jazz Award ceremony, despite the best efforts of sundry ageing MPs to indulge in political banter, and the winners in each category were revealed as follows:

Jazz Vocalist: Norma Winstone

Jazz Instrumentalist: Laura Jurd

Jazz Album: Partisans’ Swamp

Jazz Ensemble: Engines Orchestra

Jazz Newcomer: Peter Edwards

Jazz Venue: St Ives Jazz Club

Jazz Media: London Jazz News

Jazz Education: National Youth Jazz Orchestra

Services to Jazz: Chris Hodgkins

And worthy winners they all are.

The real treat of the evening for me was the appearance of veteran bass player, author, music producer, club owner, painter, environmentalist and Old Testament God look-alike, Peter Ind, called up to receive a special lifetime achievement award. How many musicians can say: “I played my first gig 70 years ago.”

The awards are sponsored by PPL.

Categories: News

Tags: , ,

1 reply

  1. Simply lovely – and a great choice of winners!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: