2014’s Parliamentary Jazz Award winners

??????????????????????????????Awards: the jazz world might have mixed feelings about them – “it’s not about winners and losers, man” – but we all quite like them anyway, and they do assist to heighten the jazz profile in the media and therefore in society, if only for a brief moment.

So here is a summary of the official press release from PPL concerning this year’s Parliamentary Jazz Awards:

The winners were announced yesterday (Tuesday 13 May) for the 2014 Parliamentary Jazz Awards. Now in their tenth year, the Awards are organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG) and are now Britain’s premier awards for the jazz loving public – plus fans in both Houses.

Sponsored by music licensing company PPL, the awards feature a broad array of jazz talent from within the industry, with this year’s categories being updated to reflect the ever-increasing scope of talent from within the UK’s jazz scene. The full list of winners is as follows:

Jazz Vocalist of the YearChristine Tobin

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year: Arun Ghosh

Jazz Album of the Year: Troykestra Live At Cheltenham 13 Jazz Festival

Jazz Ensemble of the YearBeats & Pieces Big Band

Jazz Newcomer of the YearPhil Meadows

Jazz Venue of the YearEFG London Jazz Festival

Jazz Media Award: Jamie Cullum

Jazz Education Award: Issie Barratt, National Youth Jazz Collective

Services to Jazz AwardDavid Redfern

Special APPJAG Award: Chris Barber

  • The full release is here.

Categories: News

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: